PDA

View Full Version : Only 2 of 3 monitors running at 120Hz? Please help the n00b!



Gar
11-11-2012, 12:05 PM
I am pretty happy that I finally got the correct Active Dual-Link DVI to DSP adapter (http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/accell-accell-ultraav-displayport-to-dvi-d-dual-link-adapter-b087b-002b-3-b087b-002b-3/10157809.aspx) to be able to run all three of my Asus VG236H monitors at 120Hz.

But one of my monitors that is just on a normal Dual-Link DVI can only have 60Hz enabled in windows and CCC...

This is my setup. (http://pcpartpicker.com/p/lZg2)

Do you think it is a limitation of my video card?
Would Toasty's modified AMD drivers help out, or is it something else?

Gar
11-12-2012, 02:44 PM
120Hz is awesome! When I scroll over to my right side monitor the mouse seems a little less smooth, but it could be all in my head...
Windows says that right side monitor is only running at 60Hz but in eyeinfinity I think the displays all run at 120Hz?
Does anyone know I good, free monitor test I can do?

Gar
11-13-2012, 01:03 AM
Anybody?

Arauthator
11-13-2012, 09:54 PM
You could try powerstrip to determine your refresh rate.

Kakee
11-14-2012, 07:40 AM
You would need http://www.accellcables.com/products/DisplayPort/DP/dp330_dvid.htm "3D ready adapter" or try toastyX custom driver.

edit. your monitors not 1440p so adapter is not requisite

Gar
11-29-2012, 12:15 AM
I think powerstrip may have found the problem, I just don't know what to do or what it is telling me. I Googled the dialog box contents and came up with nothing. If anyone could advise me that would be awesome.

Here's a screen of the dialog box that appears when I start powerstrip, I am too n00b to go past it...I don't know what it's talking about. Like how do I know if I am using adapter defaults?

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/18/whatdoesthismeann.jpg/
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/5536/whatdoesthismeann.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/18/whatdoesthismeann.jpg/)

Edit: Oh and I have an AMD approved Dual-Link Active DSP to DVI adapter so that isn't an issue

Edit: I am just editing my new findings so that I don't ttt and annoy people... I just clicked OK anyway and ran powerstrip and did I little more research to discover that each of my Vapor-X 7970's only have one dual-link DVI-D and one Dual-Link DVI-I and since all three monitors have to be plugged into the same card, one of them is stuck at 60Hz.
Oh well.

Edit: Ok maybe not. It appears that DVI-I and D should both be able to push 120Hz. I don't understand why the DVI-I connection won't allow 120Hz though.

I have 120Hz set for each monitor in Powerstrip, it there any way to test this?

Gar
12-01-2012, 01:16 PM
Ugh, what a mess.
So when running eyefinity in CCC is says that my Desktop Properties/Current Mode Settings-Eyefinity Group is running at 5760 x 1080, 3x1 @ 1920 x 1080 @ only 60 Hz High (32-bit) Landscape. It is locked to 60Hz.
But when I go to Properties (Digital Flat-Panel) It says the maximum reported refresh rate is 120Hz.
I just don't get it.
When I drag a window to my right side screen I can see it tearing, I dunno what is going on or if I'm even getting 120Hz on my other two panels.

Edit: Ok, so I'm going to pull my head out of my and try to install toasty X custom drivers today, I am just scared. I don't know how to uninstall old drivers or really what to do at all and am afraid I will make it worse... Guess I have some research to do... Any links to tutorials would be greatly appreciated!
Update: I read all 24 pages of the ToastyX Custom drivers thread and will try this evening!

Wixely Holmes
12-04-2012, 09:34 AM
When I drag a window to my right side screen I can see it tearing, I dunno what is going on or if I'm even getting 120Hz on my other two panels.

I notice this too, I think its just the software acting up when I move windows between screens. It seems to fix itself if I leave it for a while to "calm down".

BlackOctagon
12-04-2012, 12:32 PM
For the record, it's a DP to dual link DVI cable (not the other way round). The signal goes from the graphics card (out the DP output port) TO the monitor (into the dual link DVI input port).

And the shorthand for DisplayPort is DP, not DSP.

Pedantic? Yes. But for reasons I cannot yet fathom it was driving me mad to keep reading references to "dual link DVI to DSP"

Gar
12-05-2012, 10:51 AM
For the record, it's a DP to dual link DVI cable (not the other way round). The signal goes from the graphics card (out the DP output port) TO the monitor (into the dual link DVI input port).

And the shorthand for DisplayPort is DP, not DSP.

Pedantic? Yes. But for reasons I cannot yet fathom it was driving me mad to keep reading references to "dual link DVI to DSP"

Hahaha I'm such a n00b! Thanks BlackOctagon, I appreciate any advice I can get!