PDA

View Full Version : GTX580 SLI or 660ti 3g SLI



TheMayor
03-17-2013, 02:55 PM
I currently have 1 GTX 580 Lightning and can get another for $225 or less.
so
Should I spend the $225 for GTX 580 Lightning in SLI on Catleap for goal of 100hz at 100fps (2560x1440)

or

sell the GTX 580 for $200-225 and get (2) 660 ti 3g for about $640

lets assume price is not really an issue, more performance and future proof without throwing money out the window.
Thanks in advance

Fimconte
03-17-2013, 04:28 PM
I don't think 660 TI is really worth the it's at this point, especially since the newer 7950s beat it in most benchmarks.

I'd say it depends on what games you're playing.
If you need the GPU power increase now, then I'd sell the 580 and get 7950/7970 (CF) or 670 / 680 (SLI). Preferably used 670 / 680 since they're a bit pricey compared to 79xx's.

Also it's worth considering the bundles that come with each card. AMD is offering Bioshock and Tomb Raider, Nvidia has 150$ (50$ each) towards three F2P titles (Hawken, WoT, PS2).
The Nvidia coupon is going for ~40$, (perhaps a bit more if you're selling the codes individually) on ebay at the moment, AMD one for ~60$ (30$ per key).

TheMayor
03-18-2013, 06:48 AM
I don't think 660 TI is really worth the it's at this point, especially since the newer 7950s beat it in most benchmarks.

I'd say it depends on what games you're playing.
If you need the GPU power increase now, then I'd sell the 580 and get 7950/7970 (CF) or 670 / 680 (SLI). Preferably used 670 / 680 since they're a bit pricey compared to 79xx's.

Also it's worth considering the bundles that come with each card. AMD is offering Bioshock and Tomb Raider, Nvidia has 150$ (50$ each) towards three F2P titles (Hawken, WoT, PS2).
The Nvidia coupon is going for ~40$, (perhaps a bit more if you're selling the codes individually) on ebay at the moment, AMD one for ~60$ (30$ per key).

This is all good information, thank you. I feel like I want to stay away from AMD right now. I dont particularly like the drivers they use, and correct me if Im wrong, that they do not display or allow nVidia physx correctly or at all? It looks like I am leaning toward (2) 680 Lightnings or PE.

TheMayor
03-18-2013, 07:12 AM
Do you guys think that 2GB of VRAM is enough at 2560x1440 @ 100hz
I like all the eye candy I can get as well.

Fimconte
03-18-2013, 12:04 PM
Well, depends on the games and settings. You might be fine for most games at the moment, but future games will hit a limit at the 2GB.
I mean I hit 2.2gb+ in Planetside 2 at higher settings.
So I'd go for 4GB versions.

As for PhysX, it's a Nvidia proprietary tech so unless Nvidia allows it AMD can't use it.
What do you dislike about AMD drivers?

Shadman
03-18-2013, 04:15 PM
Can't you use the CPU for physx?

winterhell
03-19-2013, 03:07 AM
Can you have a dedicated nvidia card for the physx while the radeons are doing the graphics?

Sneaky
03-19-2013, 05:24 AM
Can you have a dedicated nvidia card for the physx while the radeons are doing the graphics?
Yes I am pretty sure you can do this ;)

Fimconte
03-19-2013, 11:28 AM
Can you have a dedicated nvidia card for the physx while the radeons are doing the graphics?

However, note that Physx 3.0 isn't supported and it seems like it won't be (At least by Hybridiz) since it supposedly is efficient enough on the CPU.
Not sure if that's true since PS2 is PhysX 3.0 based and it doesn't work on the CPU at the moment, but maybe that's because it's not officially implemented.