PDA

View Full Version : What will I need? (Build included)



Degree
05-19-2012, 02:04 PM
Alright I'm about to build my gaming PC and concluded I will get a catleap instead of the benq xl2420t. (Main reason I chose the benq at first was because it was 120hz w/ 2ms reponse time)

I'm going to get a 680.

If I order the monitor, I will have everything I need right? Cables and everything, just hook it up to the 680 and I'm done? (And then OCing it after)

I'm new to all of this so please don't go hard on me :o

My build I'm thinking of:


CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/intel-cpu-bx80637i53570k) ($189.99 @ Microcenter)
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100 92.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/corsair-cpu-cooler-cwch100) ($104.99 @ NCIX US)
Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/asrock-motherboard-z77extreme4) ($147.86 @ Newegg)
Memory: Samsung 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/samsung-memory-mv3v4g3dus) ($47.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/western-digital-internal-hard-drive-wd1002faex) ($119.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 2GB Video Card (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/evga-video-card-02gp42680kr) ($507.55 @ Newegg)
Case: NZXT Switch 810 (White) ATX Full Tower Case (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/nzxt-case-casw810w1) ($169.99 @ Amazon)
Power Supply: Corsair 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/corsair-power-supply-cmpsu750ax) ($155.99 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer (http://pcpartpicker.com/part/asus-optical-drive-drw24b1stblkbas) ($24.97 @ Newegg)
Total: $1469.32

Also going to add in an Asus Xonar DX (I have A40s, so I need Dolby Live to get the full performance of it) along with the Ducky Shine Dragon of the Year Edition Keyboard w/ MX Browns

HyperMatrix
05-19-2012, 02:14 PM
Few recommendations. For ram, the one you linked is really high latency. Go with this instead: http://pcpartpicker.com/us/part/corsair-memory-cmx4gx3m1a1600c7

And it's a quad channel board, right? So if you go with 4x 4gb sticks that means 2x the memory, and also 2x the memory speed. Do it. :P

For hard drives, get an ssd for your main operating system/common apps like the corsair force gt (550MB/s read). Even a 120gb will do. That's on top of your 1tb drive for random files/games/etc. What you'll end up doing after is you'll buy yet another ssd, just for games. So one ssd for OS and Commonly used apps, one ssd for your games, and a 1-2tb drive for your torrents and porn.

And for overall CPU functionality, I really like hyper threading so I would recommend the extra $$ to get a 3770k. You'll love your pc more if you do it. But again I tend to favor performance over price in pc builds.

Degree
05-19-2012, 02:29 PM
Oh I forgot to include I already have an SSD, Crucial M4 128GB. Picked it up when Newegg has them for for $99 two weeks ago! xD
Right now I have it installed on my Asus G60VX Laptop and I love it.

I would like to have 8GB RAM.
I don't think hyperthreading would be useful for me as this build is primarily set for gaming with some editing, I'll just use the cash on the monitor/other parts.

Also, my question is still left unanswered! lol

waperboy
05-19-2012, 02:42 PM
Oh I forgot to include I already have an SSD, Crucial M4 128GB. Picked it up when Newegg has them for for $99 two weeks ago! xD
Right now I have it installed on my Asus G60VX Laptop and I love it.

I would like to have 8GB RAM.
I don't think hyperthreading would be useful for me as this build is primarily set for gaming with some editing, I'll just use the cash on the monitor/other parts.

Also, my question is still left unanswered! lol

The Catleap comes with a DVI dual-link cable, so just plug it in.

And the memory gibberish that HyperMatrix mentioned - just that you will get twice the memory performance if you get 4 sticks of RAM instead of 2 :)

Catrik
05-19-2012, 03:03 PM
I dont think memory speed really matters anything. I've often thought about getting "better" ram I've seen on discounts but if you check any comparison/tests, it just doesnt get you any real life performance. 8Gb is more than enough.

SSD - definetely! Every other opinion is just wrong. :P 120Gb is enough for OS and few apps and games that benefit from the SSD's speed. From my experience of owning a Corsair Force 3, I would recommend getting Intel.

Think about getting GTX 670 instead of 680. In my opinion the extra $100 is not worth the minor performance gain. Whatever you choose, get a card with good cooler like the Gigabyte Windforce or Asus DirectCu series.

750W power supply is way way more than you need. 2600k+GTX680 takes about 300W under load so 500W PSU is enough and leaves some room for overclocking. I would personally go for Super Flower Golden King series, they combine very high quality with silence and good price. Modular ofcourse and 5 year warranty.

HyperMatrix
05-19-2012, 03:32 PM
8gb ram isn't that much. Laptops come with 6-8gb these days. And quad channel ram is like going from 1600mhz ram to 3200mhz ram in dual channel. That's actually a very high performance increase. Especially in video editing or even video game texture/asset swapping. It'll get you several percent higher in gaming framerate as well. If you insist on 8gb then I'd get 4x 2gb sticks just to take advantage of quad channel.

If you do editing and multi-tasking, the hyper threading and higher clocks help. Maybe I'm just spoiled. I do video conversion while I play games on my pc. :P

As for 750w being too much...I disagree. You have to keep in mind a power supply will lose 10% per year. And overclocking your gtx 680 and your CPU up to around 5ghz will exceed the power your psu can supply in 2 years under load. Just not a fantastic idea. especially if you have multiple high power USB devices added to it. And if you plan on sli in the future I'd go with an 850w.

Degree
05-19-2012, 03:38 PM
I dont think memory speed really matters anything. I've often thought about getting "better" ram I've seen on discounts but if you check any comparison/tests, it just doesnt get you any real life performance. 8Gb is more than enough.

Think about getting GTX 670 instead of 680. In my opinion the extra $100 is not worth the minor performance gain. Whatever you choose, get a card with good cooler like the Gigabyte Windforce or Asus DirectCu series.

750W power supply is way way more than you need. 2600k+GTX680 takes about 300W under load so 500W PSU is enough and leaves some room for overclocking. I would personally go for Super Flower Golden King series, they combine very high quality with silence and good price. Modular ofcourse and 5 year warranty.

Yea, the memory that I've selected (Samsung) is supposedly the "golden RAM" to date due to it's overclocking ability as overclock.net told me. So I'm just going to get that.\

Doesn't the 680 have a better chance to get to 120hz better than the 670? I read somewhere someone saying so but I forgot where, I think it was over at overclock.net

As for the PSU, the price isn't that much + it gives me the peace of mind knowing that I will have enough from my PSU for the future.



8gb ram isn't that much. Laptops come with 6-8gb these days. And quad channel ram is like going from 1600mhz ram to 3200mhz ram in dual channel. That's actually a very high performance increase. Especially in video editing or even video game texture/asset swapping. It'll get you several percent higher in gaming framerate as well. If you insist on 8gb then I'd get 4x 2gb sticks just to take advantage of quad channel.

If you do editing and multi-tasking, the hyper threading and higher clocks help. Maybe I'm just spoiled. I do video conversion while I play games on my pc. :P

As for 750w being too much...I disagree. You have to keep in mind a power supply will lose 10% per year. And overclocking your gtx 680 and your CPU up to around 5ghz will exceed the power your psu can supply in 2 years under load. Just not a fantastic idea. especially if you have multiple high power USB devices added to it. And if you plan on sli in the future I'd go with an 850w.

I think 8GB is enough for me, if I decide to get more, I'll do that in the future :)

I never knew PSU loses 10% per year :O
I'll just stick with a 750w, only thing I'd be overclocking is the CPU, not the 680.

whybother
05-19-2012, 03:43 PM
lga1155 is dual channel, not quad
8gb is plenty for gaming but more is always better
hyperthreading helps in 1% of games and hinders in the rest (disabling it will allow a higher overclock at lower temps too)

power supply - always overspec. generally, a larger psu will have larger heatsinks, output less heat and run fans at a slower speed (less noise). 750w is about right for your build

Degree
05-19-2012, 03:46 PM
lga1155 is dual channel, not quad
8gb is plenty for gaming but more is always better
hyperthreading helps in 1% of games and hinders in the rest (disabling it will allow a higher overclock at lower temps too)

power supply - always overspec. generally, a larger psu will have larger heatsinks, output less heat and run fans at a slower speed (less noise). 750w is about right for your build

Thanks for your input :)

TheZone
05-19-2012, 07:14 PM
i go with this case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119213 or this case batter air flow http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119225

Degree
05-19-2012, 07:33 PM
i go with this case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119213 or this case batter air flow http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119225

Yea but I think the Switch 810 is a better way to go since it's an amazing case for watercooling and I might do it in the future. :)

Catrik
05-20-2012, 02:25 AM
8gb ram isn't that much. Laptops come with 6-8gb these days. And quad channel ram is like going from 1600mhz ram to 3200mhz ram in dual channel. That's actually a very high performance increase. Especially in video editing or even video game texture/asset swapping. It'll get you several percent higher in gaming framerate as well. If you insist on 8gb then I'd get 4x 2gb sticks just to take advantage of quad channel.

If you do editing and multi-tasking, the hyper threading and higher clocks help. Maybe I'm just spoiled. I do video conversion while I play games on my pc. :P

As for 750w being too much...I disagree. You have to keep in mind a power supply will lose 10% per year. And overclocking your gtx 680 and your CPU up to around 5ghz will exceed the power your psu can supply in 2 years under load. Just not a fantastic idea. especially if you have multiple high power USB devices added to it. And if you plan on sli in the future I'd go with an 850w.

Yes, 3200 is a lot bigger number than 1600. Else than that, I don't think it matter, especially in a gaming computer. Give yous some tests where it shows you get any real performance gain with 1600Mhz 8Gb vs 3200Mhz 16Gb? I'm not saying it's wrong to go with the latter, I just think the money can be spent better.

Power supplys lose 10% a year? Where did you hear that? I've never heard of such but it might be true for crappu PSU's. Again, 750W is not wrong, but I would prefer smaller and higher quality for the same money. Well TBH I would go for bigger, higher quality for more money but anyway ;)

HyperMatrix
05-20-2012, 03:44 AM
Regarding memory...it's not so much a cost issue as you're right that it's not a "huge" difference but in my dual-channel i7 2600k setup I have 4x xms3 4gb sticks. If the motherboard supported quad channel...i'd automatically have 2x memory performance. So you don't really have to spend more for the performance as the cost should be for the benefit of having 16gb as opposed to 8gb of ram. Which is good/handy for everything. The boost from quad channel (which I realize his motherboard doesn't have) would have been a bonus. As for the difference in performance, it's not huge but it's still a good bonus: 296

As for power supplies, it really comes down to capacitor aging. I know 10% per year is kind of the overkill stat if you're going full blast 24/7 on it. But the closer the powersupply is to your meeting your limits, the more it ends up being under load, and degrades quicker than a more powerful PSU. So I wouldn't recommend that he go below 750w. Get a good PSU, and you'll have it for years even as you upgrade everything in and around your computer.

Catrik
05-20-2012, 04:30 AM
3Dmark (or generally any benchmark) is not a real life situation, unless ofcourse your goal is to get high benchmark scores.

For the PSU, Ill take my words back - I did some calculations and 750W seems fine if OP is going to overclock and it would keep the PSU usage around 50-70%, which is usually the most efficient load.

waperboy
05-20-2012, 05:56 AM
I don't know about Windows, but I just did a clean install of Ubuntu 12.04, and when I booted the system afterwards I was greeted with - that's right, a black screen. Luckily, with Linux you can press ctrl+alt+F1 and get a command prompt, so I could edit the config file.

Any experiences from Windows users when doing fresh installs with the Catleap?

As an aside: I got a 103Hz full-resolution mode without driver, perhaps an opportunity to try higher timings without the driver in the way :)

HyperMatrix
05-20-2012, 05:59 AM
I don't know about Windows, but I just did a clean install of Ubuntu 12.04, and when I booted the system afterwards I was greeted with - that's right, a black screen. Luckily, with Linux you can press ctrl+alt+F1 and get a command prompt, so I could edit the config file.

Any experiences from Windows users when doing fresh installs with the Catleap?

As an aside: I got a 103Hz full-resolution mode without driver, perhaps an opportunity to try higher timings without the driver in the way :)


Cirthix already tested that, at least for AMD cards, you can get the full 120hz and even higher if you uninstall the AMD driver or boot into safemode where the driver is not loaded. But no driver = no games.

waperboy
05-20-2012, 06:10 AM
Cirthix already tested that, at least for AMD cards, you can get the full 120hz and even higher if you uninstall the AMD driver or boot into safemode where the driver is not loaded. But no driver = no games.

Scratch that, the driver (nvidia) really had been automatically installed.

Degree
05-20-2012, 09:12 AM
Thanks for your input guys :)