PDA

View Full Version : Question about HDMI bandwidth



Skagasaurus
01-23-2014, 05:27 PM
Is it possible for an HDMI cord to support 1080p @120hz? My TV accepts HDMI and Component, while my GPU can DisplayPort 1.2, HDMI and dual link DVI-d, so if the bottleneck is the HDMI cord itslef and not the port, I might be able to buy an adapter. Thanks for humoring me this long!

TV- Vizio M32li-A2

GPU- http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/7000/7850/pages/radeon-7850.aspx#3

HyperMatrix
01-25-2014, 03:28 AM
HDMI can do 1080p@120Hz. Yes. Depending on HDMI spec. You need HDMI 1.3 or higher to do it.

BlackOctagon
01-25-2014, 10:32 AM
OP: note that Hyper is talking about the HDMI interface itself, not only the cable. The iteration of HDMI used in your graphics card AND your display need to be of a sufficiently recent iteration to make what you want happen. Again, in addition to the cable

Sent from dumbphone (pls excuse typos and dumbness)

suni93
09-27-2014, 11:56 AM
HDMI and dual link DVI-d, so if the bottleneck is the HDMI cord itslef and not the port, I might be able to buy an adapter.