PDA

View Full Version : Don't use your 1440p 120hz display in BF3



HyperMatrix
07-18-2012, 12:38 AM
I've been called a cheater non-stop today. :(

456
457
458

Mad-Duke
07-18-2012, 12:51 AM
In past games this whit would make me proud. What kind of advantage does the monitor give that is helping you?

HyperMatrix
07-18-2012, 01:00 AM
In past games this whit would make me proud. What kind of advantage does the monitor give that is helping you?

Easier to see/aim at targets cuz of the resolution. And way easier to track motion/movement during fast turning/etc....

warnold007
07-18-2012, 01:25 AM
this is sad and happy at the same time...
talk about the curse of high-end gear... lol... :p

Mattsplat
07-18-2012, 09:46 AM
Dammit Hyper, I've been trying to convince myself I did NOT need one of these. Soon as I can order, my ass is going to hurt from the pain in my wallet. I blame you. ;)

brokn9
07-18-2012, 10:33 AM
I can't wait to get my hands on mine, I'm sure the benefits will leave me in nirvana for many months. Also getting called a cheater is the best compliment.

NateZ28
07-18-2012, 01:11 PM
Haha this awesome. Hyper, what Field of View setting do you use in BF3? On my 1920x1200 monitor 80 seems about right.
Also what kind of FPS can I expect from one 680 in BF3? I'm getting the Asus TOP Edition, so it'll be a little faster than stock (roughly 10FPS faster).

Satire
07-18-2012, 01:33 PM
Yeah I've been wondering what a good field of view would be @ 1440.

barranquillero3
07-18-2012, 01:49 PM
cant wait to get mine =)

TheZone
07-18-2012, 03:52 PM
Hacker hacker i know you hack hyper ha ha ha

Junkboy
07-22-2012, 02:14 PM
Stealth brag thread, Oh Hyper :p

HyperMatrix
07-22-2012, 07:40 PM
Haha this awesome. Hyper, what Field of View setting do you use in BF3? On my 1920x1200 monitor 80 seems about right.
Also what kind of FPS can I expect from one 680 in BF3? I'm getting the Asus TOP Edition, so it'll be a little faster than stock (roughly 10FPS faster).

I just use the standard field of view. Never even bothered playing around with it. Lol. My 2 cards in SLI with everything at ultra, and fxaa, and 2x msaa, give me between 90-150 fps on the maps I play. If you disable AA completely and maybe turn down a few settings, you should have reasonable framerates with 1 card. As long as you can maintain 80fps, you'll be really happy.

HyperMatrix
07-22-2012, 07:41 PM
Stealth brag thread, Oh Hyper :p

Nothing stealthy about it. :P

Junkboy
07-22-2012, 07:50 PM
I wonder if when D3 pvp finally comes out and you go on a 100 win streak will we see another thread xD Thought not sure anyone of us will still be playing D3 by then.

HyperMatrix
07-22-2012, 07:52 PM
I wonder if when D3 pvp finally comes out and you go on a 100 win streak will we see another thread xD Thought not sure anyone of us will still be playing D3 by then.

I haven't played D3 in over a month. Game got boring real fast. Became about Gear + Theory Crafting + Exploiting. I prefer fragging people in FPS's. ;)

Junkboy
07-22-2012, 07:56 PM
I haven't played D3 in over a month. Game got boring real fast. Became about Gear + Theory Crafting + Exploiting. I prefer fragging people in FPS's. ;)


Same here :( though I prefer the support life in Lol with Sona and catching up on the many games I have put in the back burner. Almost done with Bioshock 2, but already finished Fallout 3 and New Vegas. At least BF3 is a great break from things so I still play this once in awhile on my Bro's origin account :P

Mattsplat
07-23-2012, 08:21 AM
I haven't played D3 in over a month. Game got boring real fast. Became about Gear + Theory Crafting + Exploiting. I prefer fragging people in FPS's. ;)
Blizzard really screwed the pooch here. Hard to make money from RMAH sales if the end game is boring/nonexistent. Way too little content, gear system is super boring, Inferno is a "please-don't-oneshot-me again" endless series of frustrations which you're expected to grind endlessly for just to not die in one hit.

D2 was hella fun, I played on and off for years. You could spend months getting characters to lv95+ and the cow level was an enjoyable way to do that if you were so inclined. If not, the skilltree system allowed for endless unique builds that required very different gear, but the item hunt was worthwhile because of the crazy things you could do (Hammerdin comes to mind, personally I loved my Charged Bolt Sorceress). Gearing/theory crafting builds was part of the fun then, it wasn't an absolute necessity to just limp through the highest difficulty.

Exhibito
07-24-2012, 08:20 AM
Are you using the 2B monitor? What graphics card are you using?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

HyperMatrix
07-24-2012, 08:29 AM
Are you using the 2B monitor? What graphics card are you using?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Yes. My 2b. Running on 2x GTX 680's OC'd to 1260mhz gpu and i7 2600k at 4.8ghz.

unphased
07-24-2012, 09:58 AM
Yes. My 2b. Running on 2x GTX 680's OC'd to 1260mhz gpu and i7 2600k at 4.8ghz.

Are you on water?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

HyperMatrix
07-24-2012, 10:04 AM
Are you on water?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Stock video cards. And H60 with 108cfm fans for my cpu. Lol. Which I've been told I'm not allowed to call water.

brute maniac
07-24-2012, 01:42 PM
what kind of gpu usage do you get with that 4.8 oc hyper? i just went sli 680s and i hover around 70-75% on both.

HyperMatrix
07-24-2012, 02:16 PM
what kind of gpu usage do you get with that 4.8 oc hyper? i just went sli 680s and i hover around 70-75% on both.

In BF3 on ultra? I'm pretty well 90%+

NateZ28
07-24-2012, 02:22 PM
In BF3 on ultra? I'm pretty well 90%+
Do you have Hyperthreading disabled? I noticed less CPU usage and some stuttering went away when I disabled HT. I'm running a 2700k @ 5Ghz.

HyperMatrix
07-24-2012, 02:55 PM
Do you have Hyperthreading disabled? I noticed less CPU usage and some stuttering went away when I disabled HT. I'm running a 2700k @ 5Ghz.

90%+ is my GPU usage in BF3. Not CPU usage. I also have no issues with stuttering.

NateZ28
07-24-2012, 03:04 PM
90%+ is my GPU usage in BF3. Not CPU usage. I also have no issues with stuttering.
Oh I misread what he typed. I think he might have meant to ask what kind of CPU usage you get because he was asking about your 4.8 OC (CPU).
I know when BF3 first came out it had issues with HT. They may have resolved that with one of the updates by now though.

Here's to hoping my single 670 can keep up...

unphased
07-24-2012, 03:47 PM
Stock video cards. And H60 with 108cfm fans for my cpu. Lol. Which I've been told I'm not allowed to call water.

You dont mind the noise from that, then, I guess?

what voltage are you boosting up to (do you run it at max clock 24/7)?

I built a 2600K system for a buddy of mine the other day and since it was an ultra cramped mini-ITX build I could only fit a single fan on the cooler, it was a 38mm but i wasnt running it higher than 30 or so CFM (for the quietness). The radiator was an H80, the beastly double thick one. I couldnt get past 4.5ghz stable at 1.35v. Temps were already reaching scary levels with P95...

so i'm curious if u had to push your chip to 1.4v to hit that 4.8?

As for my desktop, ive got an ITX build also (its my specialty!) and i'm pretty much gonna live with what my single 670 can pull. I do have an empty corsair tower case lying around but i'll need a new mobo to get the ability to SLI and at that point the 2500k wont be cutting it.

jedi95
07-24-2012, 04:07 PM
Do you have Hyperthreading disabled? I noticed less CPU usage and some stuttering went away when I disabled HT. I'm running a 2700k @ 5Ghz.

Did you disable core parking?

Disabling it should eliminate any stuttering caused by HT.

Guide here:
http://ultimatecomputers.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3644&start=0

NateZ28
07-24-2012, 04:18 PM
Did you disable core parking?

Disabling it should eliminate any stuttering caused by HT.

Guide here:
http://ultimatecomputers.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3644&start=0
Yet another stupid Windows feature that shouldn't exist. We should have a pinned thread on this forum with a bunch of tweaks like this to improve gaming performance.
I wonder how many other tweaks/registry fixes there are to improve gaming performance...

brute maniac
07-24-2012, 07:54 PM
Oh I misread what he typed. I think he might have meant to ask what kind of CPU usage you get because he was asking about your 4.8 OC (CPU).
I know when BF3 first came out it had issues with HT. They may have resolved that with one of the updates by now though.

Here's to hoping my single 670 can keep up...

my bad nate, hyper was right, i was asking about the gpu usage and wondering if at all the cpu bottlenecks at that oc.



In BF3 on ultra? I'm pretty well 90%+

haha looks like i need to up my little 4.0ghz oc on my 2500k. but bsod 124's are a butthole to fix :p

XxDeadlyxX
07-24-2012, 10:55 PM
HyperMatrix, since you have SLI, are you at 100hz? I thought SLI could not do 120hz.

HyperMatrix
07-25-2012, 02:33 AM
HyperMatrix, since you have SLI, are you at 100hz? I thought SLI could not do 120hz.

I run it at 102hz. I'm happy with that. Very happy.

Exhibito
07-25-2012, 02:27 PM
I'm using a 2P model one monitor stuck at 59hz :-( gtx 670 2gb. Is there anything I can do?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Sn0_Man
07-25-2012, 02:34 PM
I'm using a 2P model one monitor stuck at 59hz :-( gtx 670 2gb. Is there anything I can do?

Scribby is pursuing getting PCB's built that you could Mod into your 2P model to make it a 2B. We don't even have an estimate of the cost yet though (and it's probably ~$200 so not that attractive to some people). Otherwise, try to sell your current one to some friend who you can impress with it, and buy a 2B lol.

By itself, a 2P will never go past ~67Hz. Which isn't really worth the improvement over standard 60.

Sneaky
07-26-2012, 01:04 AM
What he said ^ :p

HyperMatrix
07-26-2012, 08:32 AM
Just got banned from server for hacking...lol...

NateZ28
07-26-2012, 10:23 AM
Just got banned from server for hacking...lol...
Tell them your monitor is haxing, not you.1440p @ 100hz is clearly an unfair advantage and you should not be allowed to play BF3. ;)

Oh my monitor and 670 just arrived right before I went to work. Work is going to feel longer than usual...

Sn0_Man
07-26-2012, 10:34 AM
Tell them your monitor is haxing, not you.1440p @ 100hz is clearly an unfair advantage and you should not be allowed to play BF3. ;)

Oh my monitor and 670 just arrived right before I went to work. Work is going to feel longer than usual...

Don't tell Vega he plays at 5400x1920 and full 120Hz :)

Also, longest day of work EVER incoming. That's unfortunate, but hey. At least you got them right?

HyperMatrix
07-26-2012, 08:36 PM
I tried explaining this to the founder of the platoon that runs the server. This is what I got back:

477

SniperCzar
07-26-2012, 08:49 PM
You should come by the FLOT server sometime. I can punt anyone who accuses you of hacking :P

Or all of 120hz platoon could join, then you wouldn't have a problem.

HyperMatrix
07-26-2012, 08:51 PM
You should come by the FLOT server sometime. I can punt anyone who accuses you of hacking :P

Or all of 120hz platoon could join, then you wouldn't have a problem.

I have to say though...I'm impressed. He said he had 13 people email him IN ONE DAY accusing me of hacking. Lol. I know I'm a decently good player...but never knew I was that level good. :P

unphased
07-26-2012, 09:00 PM
I have to say though...I'm impressed. He said he had 13 people email him IN ONE DAY accusing me of hacking. Lol. I know I'm a decently good player...but never knew I was that level good. :P
It's what I like to call an unfair advantage. This obviously depends on what your understanding of fair is, but certainly if your equipment gives you what basically amounts to superior capabilities, those on the receiving end are going to be butthurt.

Keep up the good work Hyper. I wouldn't have these two *GORGEOUS* displays if it weren't for you. cheers :D

HyperMatrix
07-26-2012, 09:01 PM
It's what I like to call an unfair advantage. This obviously depends on what your understanding of fair is, but certainly if your equipment gives you what basically amounts to superior capabilities, those on the receiving end are going to be butthurt.

Keep up the good work Hyper. I wouldn't have these two *GORGEOUS* displays if it weren't for you. cheers :D

$6k spent on my computer system damn well better be an unfair advantage. Haha.

Sneaky
07-26-2012, 09:13 PM
The problem is, you are too good a player to be in that server, it is a server that advertises to noobs.
Noobs have no idea how to spot a 'real' hacker so they bitch and moan about anyone who kills them a lot.
If you are in there kicking ass then it is a no brainer, noobs are going to get pissed off, the Admins obviously
will listen to them as noobs is who they want in the server.
Don't worry about it, go find a server with players of your caliber, playing against better players than you is more fun anyway,
use it as a challenge.
BTW does their server stream PBbans? Coz if you really want to be unbanned, tell them to start streaming, PBbans pics up 98%
of hackers, we have never had any issues with hackers in our servers ;)

HyperMatrix
07-26-2012, 09:30 PM
They do use pbbans. They never accused me of using any particular hack. They just accused me of "suspected hack because you killed our clan members."

Kakee
07-27-2012, 03:50 AM
You need only two links: This thred (http://120hz.net/showthread.php?443-Don-t-use-your-1440p-120hz-display-in-BF3) and Winning (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QS0q3mGPGg)

;)

IF you do not cheat...

Sneaky
07-27-2012, 06:02 AM
Winning (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QS0q3mGPGg)

LMAO! ... nice find bud lol

HyperMatrix
07-27-2012, 06:07 AM
You need only two links: This thred (http://120hz.net/showthread.php?443-Don-t-use-your-1440p-120hz-display-in-BF3) and Winning (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QS0q3mGPGg)

;)

IF you do not cheat...

I overclock mah pixel clockz. Hackz. :P

Dawgdoc
07-27-2012, 08:18 AM
$6k spent on my computer system damn well better be an unfair advantage. Haha.

Nice dude. WTF do you have under the hood of your case for $6k!? Would love to see your system specs if you dont mind.


Yes. My 2b. Running on 2x GTX 680's OC'd to 1260mhz gpu and i7 2600k at 4.8ghz.
Wow...That 1260 is the boost clock or the nonboost clock?

Thats a pretty damn big OC for an SLI setup.

I think I might have a lemon of a 680. This is the highest I can get it where it is still stable in games. Its an EVGA GTX 680 4gb FTW

Assuming I am lucky enough to get a Catleap, will this GPU bottleneck? Or will I still be able to take advantage of the 120hz refresh rate if Im lucky enough to get there?

Im worried that even though my future monitor might get 120hz, that with the pixel density of the monitor combined with the size and resolution that this GPU wont really be able to handle it alone and my FPS will drop so low that I wont even be able to take advantage of 120hz, and might be below 60 FPS?

I dunno...what ya think? :)

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/07/27/aa5.png

HyperMatrix
07-27-2012, 08:35 AM
Nice dude. WTF do you have under the hood of your case for $6k!? Would love to see your system specs if you dont mind.


Wow...That 1260 is the boost clock or the nonboost clock?

Thats a pretty damn big OC for an SLI setup.

I think I might have a lemon of a 680. This is the highest I can get it where it is still stable in games. Its an EVGA GTX 680 4gb FTW

Assuming I am lucky enough to get a Catleap, will this GPU bottleneck? Or will I still be able to take advantage of the 120hz refresh rate if Im lucky enough to get there?

Im worried that even though my future monitor might get 120hz, that with the pixel density of the monitor combined with the size and resolution that this GPU wont really be able to handle it alone and my FPS will drop so low that I wont even be able to take advantage of 120hz, and might be below 60 FPS?

I dunno...what ya think? :)



What I've found to be surprising, actually, is that 60fps on a 102hz or 120hz display is a lot smoother still than 100fps on a 60hz display. fortunately, with 2 gtx 680's, pretty much all games that are out so far that aren't poorly coded can be run with maximum settings and fxaa or 2x MSAA, and maintain 100+ FPS on these monitors.

My system isn't particularly powerful. 1260 is with boost. No voltage unlocking/etc. the cost is mostly in the add-ons.

Case + 1250w psu = $450
CPU/h60 /w upgraded fans + Mobo + 16gb ram = $980
2x ssd 555MB/s + 1x wd velociraptor +1x 2tb = $700
Logitech g19 + rat9 + pad =$460
1080p 30fps hdmi ripper (illegal. No digital to analog ripping) = $160
Bluray burner $200
2x gtx 680 = $1200
Sony avr = $800
Monitor = $500
That's all about $5500. Then the rest is like $150 for webcam, $250 for my NAS. And some other little things here and there.

Sn0_Man
07-27-2012, 08:44 AM
Overclocking 600 series cards ends up in a difference of opinion as to what your actual overclock is. My Gigabyte GTX670 OC is listed at 980/1058 Base/Boost, but in games it runs at 1202 (verified with EVGA precisionX). I'm too lazy to OC it (because I get over 120FPS in every game I play) but I'm sure that if I applied an easy +50Mhz offset, GPU-z would report 1030/1108 base/boost but I would be gaming at 1252.

Also note that you will be over 120FPS in any game that isnt BF3/Metro 2033/The Witcher 2 with that 680 so... what games do you play? :P

Kakee
07-27-2012, 08:46 AM
I have too G19 and same sensor Razer mamba 4G but mamba is shit sensor.:(
And i think buy G13, and i have ozone strike. Razer deathadder would be next mouse, i think is right my hand. First i have make monitors ready.

Dawgdoc
07-27-2012, 09:04 AM
Currently play nothing that requires immense video rendering.

Will be playing GW2 when it releases (beta was cool!) and expect large scale battles to bottleneck most peoples systems....somewhere.

I play LoL which requires very little CPU/GPU horsepower.

I play some BF3 but only just tinkering. Im a nub a suck at it rofl.

I just bought The Secret World since Im so incredibly bored and in between games. TBH Im not liking this one much. Its cool, but not overly entertaining for me.

Thinking about getting Skyrim on Steam to pass some time. Played it on PS3 when it came out, but didnt finish all the content so I might have a run through again.

Most of these things dont really require alot of computer horsepower, but at any time I could play a game that does. Plus, like most of you Im a complete freak when it comes to my computers and just sleep better at night knowing that I have nothing but top of the line (or close to them!) parts in there, and that they are all running at 100%+ effenciency, and for me, are overclocked to the very max that they can be :P

brute maniac
07-27-2012, 09:59 AM
Currently play nothing that requires immense video rendering.

Will be playing GW2 when it releases (beta was cool!) and expect large scale battles to bottleneck most peoples systems....somewhere.

I play LoL which requires very little CPU/GPU horsepower.

I play some BF3 but only just tinkering. Im a nub a suck at it rofl.

I just bought The Secret World since Im so incredibly bored and in between games. TBH Im not liking this one much. Its cool, but not overly entertaining for me.

Thinking about getting Skyrim on Steam to pass some time. Played it on PS3 when it came out, but didnt finish all the content so I might have a run through again.

Most of these things dont really require alot of computer horsepower, but at any time I could play a game that does. Plus, like most of you Im a complete freak when it comes to my computers and just sleep better at night knowing that I have nothing but top of the line (or close to them!) parts in there, and that they are all running at 100%+ effenciency, and for me, are overclocked to the very max that they can be :P

if you start skyrim again, you should definitely mod it. if i read your post right(i hope i did) you should be completely fine for it hardware wise. step(skyrim total enhancement project) is a good starter set of mods and is super easy to get going

Dawgdoc
07-27-2012, 10:11 AM
Im sure hardware-wise im fine for everything out there. Just not sure with the new monitor what FPS ill be getting.

System was just built about 1 week ago:

i5-3570K at 4.6Ghz
Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
4x4GB G.Skill DDR3 2133 (actually running at about 2040 or so...but w/e :P)
EVGA GTX 680 FTW 4gb
Corsair HX850
Coolermaster HAF XM
Thermaltake Extreme 2.0 CPU cooler for has Hyper says "Pseudo liquid cooling"? ROFL...

Hey Ive done a TON of custom liquid cooled loops over the years. IDC what anyone says these self contained CPU coolers work really well, and are 1000000000% easier than building your own loop.

What kind of modding for Skyrim? Do you mean for better performance or for enhanced graphics?

Mattsplat
07-27-2012, 10:28 AM
Thermaltake Extreme 2.0 CPU cooler for has Hyper says "Pseudo liquid cooling"? ROFL...

Hey Ive done a TON of custom liquid cooled loops over the years. IDC what anyone says these self contained CPU coolers work really well, and are 1000000000% easier than building your own loop.
No joke - but then you must not be a "true" enthusiast ;)

In truth most self-contained units are - at best - as efficient as the top air coolers, and some are worse. Only models like the H100 actually outdo air. Considering they can be more expensive/noisier and you're adding an additional point of failure (pump) some folks poo-poo them.


What kind of modding for Skyrim? Do you mean for better performance or for enhanced graphics?
Better graphics - you can get mods off Steam workshop now, but Skyrim Nexus (http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/) is still a great place to go. Most of these are texture mods and considering you went 4GB, you'll have room for plenty of them :cool:

Dawgdoc
07-27-2012, 10:49 AM
No joke - but then you must not be a "true" enthusiast ;)

In truth most self-contained units are - at best - as efficient as the top air coolers, and some are worse. Only models like the H100 actually outdo air. Considering they can be more expensive/noisier and you're adding an additional point of failure (pump) some folks poo-poo them.


Im a performance and at this stage of my life "ease of assembly" enthusiast LOL....

Agreed that temps and performance wont be 100% of a custom loop, but I would say performance from my 1 experience with this Thermaltake contained system are 95% (guestimate) of a custom loop, and its WAY quieter than any air cooler I have experienced.

I think the Thermaltake Extreme 2.0 (Asetek rebrand) is actually a better performer than the H100, but again just personal opin.

Thanks for that Skyrim info! Gonna check it out!

HyperMatrix
07-27-2012, 06:12 PM
Yeah...extra noise is true...but don't question the h60's performance with dual 108cfm fans on the radiator. Haha.

unphased
08-08-2012, 10:40 PM
Has anyone encountered this problem? BF3 has been working great, it used to select the 2560x1440 120.0Hz full screen resolution just fine.

But this time I start up the game and the only option it gives is 59.9Hz at that (and every other) res. The game will run in 120Hz in windowed mode but performance suffers quite a bit in windowed mode.

Hopefully I can find some flag to set to force the 120Hz but I hate when programs suddenly change their behavior like this.

HyperMatrix
08-08-2012, 10:42 PM
Install the monitor drivers in my video guide and reboot your PC and you should be able to select 120hz in fullscreen mode again.

unphased
08-09-2012, 03:32 PM
It works like it used to after a reboot. Whew.