PDA

View Full Version : Catleap arrived!!!!!



Dawgdoc
08-13-2012, 04:11 PM
Just unboxed and hooked up the new Catleap.

This thing is beautiful!!!!!!

OC'd to 120 right off the bat. Followed this simple guide here from sno:
http://120hz.net/showthread.php?462-OCing-a-Catleap

Is there anything else I need to do? I read the other stickies here in the Catleap subform, and watched Hyper's video, and he spoke about downloading drivers/etc....

Do I need to do any of that?

Also the stuck pixel....I dont even notice it. I saw it on a total black screen as Scribby said I would, but other than that I cant even find the thing. About to do some basic tests to check a few things, see if there is any significant backlight bleed/etc, but over im 1000000% happy :)

So basically, is there anything else I need to do other than change the refresh rate to a custom 120hz or is that it?

THANK YOU SCRIBBY! :D

120HzNET
08-13-2012, 04:45 PM
Glad to hear it is everything you wanted! Your cash has already been sent to China - ah global commerce!!! You may have to do some things for games to hit over the 60hz limit. To be honest I have not been following all that too closely these days as the new warehouse space is getting prepped and I consolidate my current practice with Overlord on September 1. Moving is so much fun.

Dawgdoc
08-13-2012, 10:21 PM
Yea needed to use Hyper's driver in order to get over 60hz in any game.

Desktop is great at 120hz, but @120hz in game I get some horizontal lines. Dropped it to 110hz and no probs with lines anymore.

Might I be able to get a stable 120hz in games if I play with the timings a bit maybe?

necriss
08-13-2012, 11:01 PM
120hz timings


Horizontal - 2560, 32, 20, 2700
Vertical - 1440, 3, 5, 1450
Pixel Clock : 469.8000 MHz

ToastyX
08-14-2012, 07:02 AM
If you're getting intermittent flickering horizontal lines, then you need a better cable.

Try a Monoprice 24AWG DVI cable: http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10209&cs_id=1020901

Dawgdoc
08-14-2012, 08:12 AM
If you're getting intermittent flickering horizontal lines, then you need a better cable.

Try a Monoprice 24AWG DVI cable: http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10209&cs_id=1020901

Thats the cable Im using except I got 10ft instead of 6ft.....

BlackOctagon
08-14-2012, 08:28 AM
Thats the cable Im using.

Oh dear, that's not very reassuring

HyperMatrix
08-14-2012, 08:30 AM
120hz timings


Horizontal - 2560, 32, 20, 2700
Vertical - 1440, 3, 5, 1450
Pixel Clock : 469.8000 MHz

Those timings may be too tight and causing his issues. I think almost all the issues with oc limits have been resolved with better cables and timing tweaking.

Dawgdoc
08-14-2012, 08:52 AM
Those timings may be too tight and causing his issues. I think almost all the issues with oc limits have been resolved with better cables and timing tweaking.

Im not using those timings. Im using the timings you posting in your "How to OC a Catleap - Nvidia" youtube video thats posted here on this forum.

THey were 99% the same as the stock clock settings, except for the hz (of course) and the bottom most # on the vertical. Everything else was the same.

So I guess if I want to attempt to get 120hz in games and mess around a bit I should loosen some of the timings (use higher numbers)?

Other games might work with 120hz Im not sure. I only played Darkfall last night (@120hz) which is a weirdo poorly coded game to begin with, so 120hz in games might work as well as desktop for everything else.

Desktop works 100% perfect at 120hz fyi.

HyperMatrix
08-14-2012, 09:00 AM
Too high and too low are both bad. Really just gotta play around with it. I think I use 1475 and 2705 myself. Will check later when I'm at my pc.

DJManiac
08-14-2012, 11:01 AM
I get the best results with following settings for 120.000 in CRU - 100% stable in Games and on Desktop

2560 - 48 - 32 - 80 - 160 - 2720
1440 - 3 - 5 - 2 - 10 - 1450
120.000 @ 473.28

But this is with a quite good Lindy Gold DVI-D cable... This wasn't possible with the originally shipped cable....

For P-State of my 6970 and everyday usage I use 100 or 110 at "Best for LCD"