New 120Hz Games Report
Join Today
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 19 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 187
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    All over the place
    Posts
    1,051
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 29 Times in 25 Posts

    120hz.net Games Report.




    Welcome to 120hz.net's mini-game performance review thread and refresh rate guide.

    New Guide

    Attention: Due to Whitespider's absence, I'll (Shadman) be writing the guide as a Google Drive Spreadsheet for people to view, so any changes/additions you want to see, let me know! Just post in the thread, or PM me here. I frequent here often. See below for Whitespiders original post.


       Whitespider's Original Post
    Last edited by Shadman; 09-13-2013 at 10:16 PM.

  2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Shadman For This Useful Post:

    BlackOctagon (11-06-2012), Bluescreen (10-01-2012), DJManiac (10-01-2012), hrockh (08-04-2013), HyperMatrix (10-01-2012), Irritating (05-23-2015), Pleiades (02-05-2013), xNiNELiVES (11-24-2012)

  3. #2
    Call Of Cthulhu runs 120HZ.

    Also, any Source Engine game runs 120HZ or whatever you want(And look beautiful)

    All Unreal Engine 3.0 games are limited @ 90FPS

    Witcher 2 runs 120HZ, but doesn't look different.
    Last edited by Mkilbride; 10-01-2012 at 12:11 AM.

  4. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,812
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 288 Times in 201 Posts
    Images
    12
    I like this very much.

  5. #4
    I have quite a few of these games and would like to help

    Been playing Dead Space over the weekend and there is no need for tweaks.

    - Choose your resolution in game, e.g. 2560x1440@120hz
    - Turn Vsync off (WILL CAP THE GAME AT 60 IF ON - read more below)

    Having Vsync on will cap Dead Space at 60fps. I've looked in the config file to see if it could be changed but no option to allow to.

    edit:

    Dragon Age Origins = No Limits.
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood = No limits. I would imagine it being the same with the rest of the AC games.
    Last edited by avengernoonzz; 10-01-2012 at 02:33 AM.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    881
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts
    Any advice anyone wants to share, go right ahead. I'll add it.

    The reasons I am going to upkeep this thread, are twofold - A: It's easy to edit. My 'games that run above 60fps' thread was a formatting mess. This is easy to jump in and add stuff. and B: I have owned a catleap 2b for a long time now. When I made the old thread, it was with a u2711. All I tested was the framerates with a monitor that did not support a refresh rate of above 60hz. Which meant a lot of the findings where actually inaccurate.

  7. #6
    Prototype 2 -

    Have this as your SET LAUNCH options for Prototype 2 in Steam = RESOLUTION=2560x1440@120 (120 being the refresh rate of the monitor).

    No Limits. Sli/Crossfire this generation cards recommended for 120hz. Vsync caps to refresh rate like it should.

    Magicka -


    Can choose 2560x1440 in game but it will be only 120hz if your desktop refresh rate is 120hz. Vsync is automatically on and there is no way of turning it off. (I couldn't find a way at least).

    Transformers Fall Of Cybertron -

    Capped at 60fps even if Vsync is on or off. Couldn't find a config for it or any information on it.
    Last edited by avengernoonzz; 10-01-2012 at 08:18 AM.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    881
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts
    avengernoonzz;14513]Prototype 2 -

    Have this as your SET LAUNCH options for Prototype 2 in Steam = RESOLUTION=2560x1440@120 (120 being the refresh rate of the monitor).

    No Limits. Sli/Crossfire this generation cards recommended for 120hz. Vsync caps to refresh rate like it should.
    I would normally just copy this into the prototype 2 box, however I have had a different experience with the game. I find that for starters, you don't get much higher than 60fps - even on a 5.5ghz overclock. It might occasionally jump to 80fps or 70fps. However when it does, it feels less smooth than a constant 60. Also, when the framerate is not constant, the mouse or 360 gamepad loses sensitivity entirely during a shift. So it will feel like this panning camera(60fps), controller freeze(71fps), continue panning (59fps). Which is extremely broken.

    Capping the framerate to whatever your minimum framerate is, is the best solution for this game. So if you mostly get 58fps with occasional raises to 70fps and frequent drops to 48fps. capping it to 50fps, would have smoother results without the controls outright breaking. It can handle a few fps in either direction, but the moment it goes over that. Horrible.

    Also, the game does not support SLI. And gains are extremely minimal or even negative scaling in crossfire, which also has a lighting bug that disables the post processing for 60% of people.

    It's a mess of a game.

  9. #8

    Re: 120hz.net Games Report.

    I didn't even realise that Crysis 1 and 2 lacked 120Hz support out of the box!?
    "IT RUNS FINE???!?!?!! FINE!!! I'll GIVE YOU FINE." - whitespider

  10. #9

    120hz.net Games Report.

    SC2?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia.
    Posts
    881
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 65 Times in 39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackOctagon View Post
    I didn't even realise that Crysis 1 and 2 lacked 120Hz support out of the box!?
    If you run crysis 2 on a 1920x1080 monitor that has a native refresh rate of 120hz. Then crysis 2 should run at 120hz. If you have a lower native refresh rate, like 60hz. And have a custom refresh of 120hz, then the game will run at 60hz, unless you disable enable vsync a few times. Same thing goes for saints row 3, both direct x 11 games. The same is also true for crysis 1, except the vsync on/off trick does not work. So you need the minimum refresh rate to be the intended one. Otherwise it will default to 60hz. At least on nvidia cards.

    That's why, firstly - I need to explain clearly why people should use CRU to remove any lower-than-what-they-want hz. I'll get around to that. This is still very much a work in progress. I generally just start a information thread and then tweak it until it feels right.


 

Visitors found this page by searching for

supermeatboy fps limit

bully scholarship edition 120hz

can super meat boy run at 120 fps

super meat boy limit fps

crysis 2 120hz

transformers game 120hz

whitespider 120hz performance issues

bully scholarship edition 120hz patch

bully 120hz

Rogue Legacy 120hz

fear 3 120hz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts